The 20th Century Concert

03/30/2018, 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

St. Cecilia Music Center map


Villa Lobos Prelude from Bachianos brasileiras No. 4
Copland Suite from Appalachian Spring, Original Instrumentation
Stravinsky Suite No. 2 for Small Orchestra
Shostakovich Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and String Orchestra

Marcelo Lehninger Conductor | Charley Lea Trumpet | Michael Brown Piano

Simple joys dominate this program of 20th-century classics. Villa-Lobos, throughout his career-long series of composing Bachianas Brasileiras, was evoking the spirit of Bach through the lens of his love of Brazilian music. The suites range in size from nearly solo pieces to works for enormous forces. Copland, in his most famous full-length work, evokes the ‘simple gifts’ of a rural community coming together for marriage, home building and the joys of community. Stravinsky, at his most light-hearted pulls, together music originally written as easy pieces for beginner pianists into a cheeky suite for small orchestra. Last, but not least, Shostakovich wrote his second piano concerto in 1957 as a gift to his son, Maxim, who was beginning his own career as a budding pianist and conductor.


Individual tickets start at $26 |  Students $5

Series Sponsor:

Buy Tickets