Rhythm of the Dance

01/19/2019, 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

DeVos Performance Hall map


Falla Suite No. 1 from The Three Cornered Hat
Rodrigo Concierto de Aranjuez
Gabriela Frank Three Latin American Dances
Piazzolla Two Tangos
Ginastera Four Dances from Estancia

Marcelo Lehninger Conductor | Pablo Sainz Villegas Guitar | Members of the Grand Rapids Ballet

Sultry, sensual rhythms of Latinx-flavored music from both sides of the Atlantic will take the winter chill away in this program. Spanish guitarist Pablo Sainz Villegas, winner of the Andres Segovia Award and Gold Medalist in the first Christopher Parkening International Guitar Competition, joins the orchestra as soloist in Joaquin Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez. Not only is the Spanish-flavored concerto the most popular work of all time for guitar and orchestra, it includes one of the most hauntingly beautiful English horn solos in the repertoire. Brazilian-born Marcelo Lehninger conducts music by two Argentinean composers including Alberto Ginastera. Five dancers from Grand Rapids Ballet join the orchestra to dance two tangos, Oblivion and Primavera Porteña, by Astor Piazzolla. Grammy Award-winning composer Gabriela Lena Frank, an American of Peruvian descent, gives a fresh, new spin on music of Latin America.
Click HERE to see program notes.

Tune in to our concert rebroadcast on Blue Lake Public Radio on Sunday, April 14 at 1 pm.

Buy Tickets

Individual tickets start at $18 |  Students $5

Enhance Your Concert Experience and Enjoyment

Inside the Music, 7 PM - Free Preconcert Talks
Inside the Music sponsored by  

Series Sponsor: Mr. and Mrs. Richard and Helen DeVos  |  Guest Artist Sponsored by Edith I. Blodgett Guest Artist Fund
Concert Sponsor: 

Beginning this season, new security measures will be in place. All patrons must pass through metal detectors upon entering the venue. All bags are subject to inspection. Bags larger than 14 x 14 x 6 inches will not be permitted.