The 20/21st Century Concert: Celebrating Women

05/03/2019, 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

St. Cecilia Music Center map


Joan Tower Chamber Dance
David Biedenbender Their Eyes Are Fireflies
Anna Clyne
Within Her Arms
Ruth Crawford Seeger Andante for Strings
Ruth Crawford Seeger Rissolty Rossolty

John Varineau Conductor | Ava Ordman Trombone

Ava Ordman, for nearly 25 years, served as Principal Trombonist of the Grand Rapids Symphony, frequently appearing as soloist with the orchestra. Now a professor of music at Michigan State University, Ordman returns for a concert of 20th and 21st century music, most of it by women. Composers include Grammy Award-winner Joan Tower and early 20th century composer Ruth Crawford Seeger, who also happened to be stepmother to folksinger and songwriter Pete Seeger.

Tune in to our concert rebroadcast on Blue Lake Public Radio on Sunday, May 26 at 1 pm.


Individual tickets start at $26
|  Students $5

Buy Tickets

Series Sponsor: