The Baroque Concert: Bach and Beyond

10/12/2018, 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

St. Cecilia Music Center map


Marcello Concerto for Oboe
Villa-Lobos Bachianas brasileiras No. 9
Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3

Marcelo Lehninger Conductor | Ellen Sherman Oboe

Johann Sebastian Bach, who flourished in the early 18th century, is revered as one of the greatest, if not the greatest, composer who ever lived. Nonetheless, Bach was influenced by the music of other composers such as Vivaldi. The German composer was so sufficiently impressed by Alessandro Marcello’s Concerto for Oboe that he took it upon himself to arrange it for solo keyboard. For this concert, though, Grand Rapids Symphony’s Ellen Sherman plays the original concerto for oboe, strings and continuo as written by the Venetian composer.

Individual tickets start at $26
|  Students $5

Subscribe Now

Series Sponsor:
Grand Rapids Symphony Chorus Sponsor: Mary E. Tuuk