Celebration of Soul

02/24/2018, 6:00 PM to 7:30 PM

DeVos Place, Steelcase Ballroom map


Mark your calendars for Celebration of Soul on Saturday, February 24, 2018.

Click HERE to purchase your tickets.
To purchase tickets for the Symphony with Soul concert ONLY, please click HERE.

About Celebration of Soul

In 2006, the Grand Rapids Symphony created Celebration of Soul, an event to honor the accomplishments of individuals and organizations that celebrate the importance of diversity, inclusion and bridge-building in West Michigan. The Grand Rapids Symphony’s commitment to establishing a diverse community reverberates in all the orchestra’s programs and services. This is reflected in the selection of diverse guest artists and conductors who embrace diversity, Symphony musicians who donate their time, as well as Symphony music education programs that serve schools in which arts education is a fraction of the curriculum.

As part of Celebration of Soul, the Dr. MaLinda P. Sapp Legacy Award was established to honor individuals and organizations for their on-going diversity efforts and accomplishments. The award celebrates an organization or person's distinguished leadership and on-going commitment to advancing engagement, inclusion and diversity. A recipient is a leader that successfully models diversity and inclusion in their profession or industry. They are inspirational, consistent and innovative and encourage others to be culturally competent. The Dr. MaLinda P. Sapp Legacy Award gives the community the opportunity to recognize honorees for their commitment to diversity, education, and bridging cultural differences.

Past Celebration of Soul Recipients
•Cherry Health
•Christina Arnold 
•Elias Lumpkins
•Stephen and Clarice Drew  
•Huntington Bank 
•David Lockington
•Grand Rapids Urban League
•Catherine Williams (posthumously)
•Paul Collins
•Hispanic Center of West Michigan
•Grand Rapids African American Health Institute
•Edye Evans Hyde
•Rev. Nathaniel Moody
•Baxter Community Center
•Mary K. Hoodhood
•Debra L. Perry
•Peter M. Wege
•Sonya Hughes
•W.K. Kellogg Foundation
•Dr. MaLinda P. Sapp
•Dr. Marvin L. Sapp
•Duane and Kaye Davis
•Bing Goei
•Rev. Clifton Rhodes, Jr.
•Dr. Ed Dobson
•Rev. Lyman Parks, Sr. 
•Drs. James and Charsie Sawyer
•George A. Bayard III
•Ruth Jones Hairston 
•Bishop William C. Abney
•Jonathan Jelks
•Patricia C. Pulliam, Ph.D


2018 COS Sponsors

Concert Sponsor: 

Guest Artist Sponsor: 

Legacy Award Sponsor:
 Kate Pew Wolters

 Keller Foundation

Corporate Partners: 
Ford Motor Company | Frey Foundation | Larry and Mary Gerbens | Grand Rapids Community Foundation | Grand Valley State University | Meijer | Mercy Health | Tim and Karen O'Donovan | Pridgeon & Clay Inc. | Bishop Dr. Marvin L. Sapp | Varnum LLP

Community Partner: Grand Rapids First

Media Partner: WGVU

In-Kind: Grand Rapids-Kent County Convention/Arena Authority