01/12/2018, 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

DeVos Performance Hall map


Tchaikovsky "Polonaise" from Eugene Onegin
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

Marcelo Lehninger Conductor  | Gabriela Montero Piano

He is easily one of the most beloved of all classical music composers, adored by newcomers and seasoned concert goers alike. There is something for everyone in Tchaikovsky, and our Music Director has chosen three works from the zenith of Tchaikovsky’s career for these concerts. Tchaikovsky’s most popular opera, Eugene Onegin, conjures up the lost world of the Tsars and Russian aristocracy. The Polonaise from the party scene in the opera is a brilliant orchestral showpiece. The first piano concerto, performed by the exquisite and master interpretive pianist Gabriela Montero, thrills with its famous double octaves, its superhuman runs and the sheer beauty of its melodies. The Fifth Symphony with its recurring musical motive of fate and one of the most breathtakingly soulful French horn solos in all classical music, concludes the concert.


Buy Tickets

Individual tickets start at $18 |  Students $5

Enhance Your Concert Experience and Enjoyment

Inside the Music,7 PM - Free Preconcert Talks
Inside the Music sponsored by  

Series Sponsor: Mr. and Mrs. Richard and Helen DeVos  |  Guest Artist Sponsored by Edith I. Blodgett Guest Artist Fund

Media Partners: